Brazil

BRAZIL

Brazil has vast natural resources that carry immense potential for the country’s economic and environmental goals; it has significant opportunity to increase agricultural production while protecting natural assets.

 

Partner Institution

Our Focus

Led by Juliano J. Assunção, a professor in the Department of Economics at PUC-Rio, CPI’s Brazil office supports key policymakers and decision-makers, such as the Brazilian Ministry of the Environment and the Brazilian National Development Bank. Our research focuses on a Production and Protection approach to land use, particularly forestry and agriculture, energy, and finance. We also lead a collaboration called INPUT (Land Use Initiative – Iniciativa Para o Uso da Terra), which brings together a team of specialists who work at the forefront of how to increase environmental protection and food production.

Connect

Sign up for CPI Brazil research and news email alerts.

What's New in Brazil

EVENT

Live Q&A: How to improve smallholders’ access to finance in sustainable farming systems

Virtual Session, June 3, 2020

Date: Wednesday 3 June
Time: 7:00 PDT / 11:00 BRT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 19:30 IST
...

Read More

PUBLICATION

Áreas protegidas, embora críticas, não são suficientes para desacelerar o desmatamento na Amazônia

May 26, 2020

O Brasil precisa de políticas de conservação direcionadas e coordenadas

Read More

PUBLICATION

Protected territories, though critical, are not enough to slow Amazon deforestation

May 26, 2020

Brazil requires coordinated and targeted conservation policies

Read More

PUBLICATION

Questions and answers on Provisional Measure 910

April 20, 2020

Researchers from the CPI / PUC-Rio prepared 10 questions and answers to clarify what is at stake with MP 910/2019

Read More

PUBLICATION

Perguntas e respostas sobre a Medida Provisória 910 de 2019

April 20, 2020

Pesquisadoras do CPI/ PUC-Rio elaboraram 10 perguntas e respostas para esclarecer de forma bem simples o que está em jogo com a MP 910/2019

Read More